Technical competencies

You must achieve the following 5 technical competencies:

  • Inspection
  • Legal/regulatory compliance
  • Measurement of land and property
  • Property records/information systems
  • Valuation.

Plus either

  • Analysis and appraisal


  • Building pathology

Further information about each of these technical competencies can be found using the links to the left.

You must complete all 8 mandatory competencies.

Full details of the Valuation pathway are on the RICS website.